Le assaggiatrici

by Rosella Postorino

Flatiron Books/Macmillan (U.S.)
and Simon & Schuster (Australia)

HarperCollins (U.K.)

“Extraordinary”

The Sunday Times

“Unputdownable … Expertly translated from the Italian”

—Trevor Royle, The Herald Scotland

 

“… Engrossing … Postorino’s first novel to be translated into English from her native Italian. Her ability to beautifully convey feelings of guilt, shame, love and remorse in a single gesture is a sign that we will be hearing more from her”

The New York Times Book Review

 

“Vividly written, tense historical fiction that’s well on the way to becoming a global bestseller”

Spectrum

“A phenomenal, eye-opening and heartbreaking read”

Yahoo Best Books of November 2019

“A disturbing, powerful and beautifully written novel”

—Christy Lefteri, author of
The Beekeeper of Aleppo

“Written with intelligence and nuance”

The Times

They called it the Wolfsschanze, the Wolf’s Lair. “Wolf” was his nickname. As hapless as Little Red Riding Hood, I had ended up in his belly. A legion of hunters was out looking for him, and to get him in their grips they would gladly slay me as well.

Inspired by the powerful true story of Margot Wölk, this is a heartbreaking and gripping historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsschanze, his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison.

Read Chapter One of At the Wolf’s Table.

Listen to an excerpt read by Polly Stone (U.S. audiobook) or Kristin Atherton (U.K. audiobook).

Originally published in Italy in 2018 by Feltrinelli, Rosella Postorino’s novel Le assaggiatrici has received multiple Italian literary awards, including the prestigious Premio Campiello, and was hailed by La Repubblica as one of the 10 best Italian novels of the decade.

With the working English title Hitler’s Feast the novel was selected as one of the twelve finalists at Books at Berlinale 2018, a joint initiative by the Frankfurt Book Fair and the Berlinale Co-Production Market celebrating notable new literary works that lend themselves to screen adaptation. The novel is to be adapted into a film by Oscar-nominated director Cristina Comencini.

With the title At the Wolf’s Table:

  • One of World Literature Today’s 75 Notable Translations of 2019
  • On Barnes & Noble’s Best New Fiction list for January 2019
  • A Barnes & Noble Spring 2019 Discover Great New Writers pick
  • Shortlisted for the Italian Prose in Translation Award 2020 by the American Literary Translators Association 

To date, Le assaggiatrici has been translated into over 30 languages and has sold half a million copies worldwide.

Rosella Postorino is represented by the Vicki Satlow Literary Agency.

Leah is a brilliant translator: precise and dependable and utterly respectful of the authors’ voice.

Vicki Saltow

President, Vicki Satlow Literary Agency

Leah Janeczko uses her creativity, passion
and expert knowledge of Italian and English
to help others express their authentic voice
in a language not their own.